ESL Teacher Textbook Review – The Oxford Picture Dictionary
Books / February 28, 2017

If you are an English as a Second Language (ESL) teacher looking for the ultimate textbook to teach your students vocabulary, then you are going to love the Oxford Picture Dictionary (Monolingual English). This textbook is perfect for any ESL student and any ESL teacher. It can be used by students of all levels, and contains important English words or vocabulary. We use this book at our ESL school, Hawaii Literacy’s Drop In Center, because it can be used with any level of student. As long as the student has learned their basic ABCs and basics of English reading, they can learn from it effectively. To understand the amazing adaptability of this ESL textbook, I will discuss a little more about how it is used in our school. The Drop-In Center is a free ESL school for the local immigrant community of Hawaii, hence student attendance is not consistent. Students are free to come and go and thus it is difficult to have a traditional lesson plan structure. In addition, since the school is mostly run by volunteers, there are often not enough ESL teachers to divide students into different levels. The Oxford Picture Dictionary offers many advantages for us:…

Extreme Ownership: How U.S. Navy SEALs Lead and Win
Books / February 28, 2017

Price: $18.55 Description: The #1 New York Times bestseller“An incredible book… you teach guys and gals about leadership and you’ve helped not only military guys but families.” ―Megyn Kelly“You show in the book how to motivate… thanks for writing the book Extreme Ownership.” ―Bill O’Reilly“[Jocko] is the co-author of an incredible new book – which I’ve been loving. Trust me. Buy it.” ―Tim Ferriss“This is a life-learning lesson for everyone… the book is awesome.” ―Sean Hannity Sent to the most violent battlefield in Iraq, Jocko Willink and Leif Babin’s SEAL task unit faced a seemingly impossible mission: help U.S. forces secure Ramadi, a city deemed “all but lost.” In gripping firsthand accounts of heroism, tragic loss, and hard-won victories in SEAL Team Three’s Task Unit Bruiser, they learned that leadership―at every level―is the most important factor in whether a team succeeds or fails.Willink and Babin returned home from deployment and instituted SEAL leadership training that helped forge the next generation of SEAL leaders. After departing the SEAL Teams, they launched Echelon Front, a company that teaches these same leadership principles to businesses and organizations. From promising startups to Fortune 500 companies, Babin and Willink have helped scores of clients across…

Lilac Girls: A Novel
Books / February 28, 2017

Price: $10.88 Description: NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances. New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline’s world is forever changed when Hitler’s army invades Poland in September 1939—and then sets its sights on France. An ocean away from Caroline, Kasia Kuzmerick, a Polish teenager, senses her carefree youth disappearing as she is drawn deeper into her role as courier for the underground resistance movement. In a tense atmosphere of watchful eyes and suspecting neighbors, one false move can have dire consequences. For the ambitious young German doctor, Herta Oberheuser, an ad for a government medical position seems her ticket out of a desolate life. Once hired, though, she finds herself trapped in a male-dominated realm of Nazi secrets and power. The lives of these three women are set on a collision course when the unthinkable happens and Kasia is sent to Ravensbrück,…

The Little Blue Box of Bright and Early Board Books by Dr. Seuss (Bright & Early Board Books(TM))
Books / February 28, 2017

Price: $12.02 Description: Hit the road reading with Dr. Seuss! Tucked inside this cute little blue box topped with a plastic handle and secured by a tuck closure are board book editions of the classic Dr. Seuss titles Hop on Pop; Oh, the Thinks You Can Think!; Ten Apples Up On Top!; and The Shape of Me and Other Stuff. Ideal for the holidays, new mothers, and happy occasions of all kinds, this is a literacy-nurturing gift that babies can literally sink their teeth into!

10 Tips on Creating the Gift of Gab For Fun And Profit
Books / February 28, 2017

Yeah! We all know them. Those disgusting people who can walk into any situation and seem to fit right into the conversation. They seem to feel at home with any crowd, and they can turn a bunch of strangers into friends in moments. In fact, they can do it in the time it takes you and me to munch a couple of dainty sandwiches, drink a glass of punch, and fade into the wall paper. I guess it’s one of those things you are either born with, or brought up to do. Or is it? Like many things in life, being able to feel comfortable among strangers, make conversation on topics you know little about, and come out on the other end with new friends or business contacts is a skill that can be learned. While being born with certain genes or having been raised a certain way can surely help, you can learn how to get around those presumed limitations, and might even wind up being better at carrying it off than those who seem to have a head start on you. While entire courses and training programs could be committed to turning the most insipid wallflower into a…